Institut auf dem Rosenberg fees as published
Institut auf dem Rosenberg fees are set out on one page of the school's website, Fees, as a structure and an average rather than a schedule by year group. The school fee has two parts: a fixed Base Fee and Individual Fees that depend on each pupil's choices.
| Item | Amount | What the school says it covers |
|---|---|---|
| Average cost of a year at the boarding school | 165,000 | A very comprehensive boarding programme; some families choose more individualised ones |
| Base Fee, per academic school year | 100,000 | Regular academic tuition, all regular school meals, non-chargeable co-curricular and athletics courses, IDP guidance |
| Individual Fees, per academic school year | 65,000 (average) | Room category, personal expenses, individual academic choices, trips, chargeable options |
| Day school, per year | 55,000 (average) | Early primary years for local families, with activities and Talent and Enrichment courses |
| Application fee, per candidate | 1,000 | Non-refundable |
At the European Central Bank reference rates of 22 September 2026, the CHF 165,000 average was EUR 175,663, USD 201,362 or GBP 150,683, and the CHF 100,000 Base Fee was EUR 106,462. The school's figures are in Swiss francs, so the amount in another currency depends on the rate on the day of payment.
What Rosenberg's tuition and Base Fee cover, and what the Individual Fees add
The Base Fee: tuition, meals and courses
The Base Fee of CHF 100,000 per academic school year covers regular academic tuition, all regular school meals, the co-curricular and athletics courses that carry no charge, and guidance under the school's Individual Development Plan (IDP) (fee page). Accommodation is not listed in it.
The Individual Fees: room, personal expenses and options
The school says the Individual Fees are invoiced, among other items, for:
- the Room Category Fee, based on the type of residence
- personal expenses such as health insurance, special dietary requirements and laundry
- individual academic choices such as private tuition, personal learning modules and examination fees
- school travel, trips and excursions
- chargeable co-curricular and athletic options
It puts these at CHF 65,000 a year on average and says the CHF 165,000 total will cover a very comprehensive boarding programme, while some families choose more individualised programmes. An average is not a quote for a particular child: the room category and the options chosen decide the figure.
The school explains the level of its fees by what it provides: its application FAQs say its care, school facilities, enrichment offering and range of academic options are expensive to maintain. Its answer on scholarships adds that it receives no government subsidies and cannot accept donations.
Why there is no all-inclusive price, and what to ask the school
The school's application FAQs say it offers no all-inclusive fee because pupils' needs and lifestyle choices differ, so a package price could not be fair to all. Its examples are special diets, individual learning modules and training plans with in-house personal trainers.
As true believers in individual education we favour “a-la-carte” over “all you can eat.”
Institut auf dem Rosenberg, application FAQs on instrosenberg.ch
For a family, that means building the budget line by line. These questions turn the published average into a figure for one child:
- Which school year does the CHF 165,000 average refer to, and what applies in our child's year of entry?
- Which residence and room category would our child have, and what is its fee?
- Is health insurance through the school required for our child, and at what cost?
- Which examination fees apply in the chosen pathway: IGCSE, A-Levels, AP or IB?
- Which co-curricular options, trips and excursions are chargeable?
- What does the first invoice contain, and which deposits apply?
- How and when are the Individual Fees invoiced during the year?
How the published average has changed since 2024
Because the page carries no year, its history is the best available evidence of when the figures changed. The Internet Archive holds dated copies of the same address. On 6 October 2024 the page stated an average of CHF 150,000, a Base Fee of CHF 93,000 and Individual Fees averaging CHF 57,000, and it still did on 21 January 2025. By 22 April 2025 it showed the figures that are still on the live page, and the page's own embedded data gives 9 April 2025 as the date it was last modified.
| Item | 21 January 2025 | 22 April 2025 | 23 September 2026 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Average cost per year | 150,000 | 165,000 | 165,000 | +10.0% |
| Base Fee | 93,000 | 100,000 | 100,000 | +7.5% |
| Individual Fees, average | 57,000 | 65,000 | 65,000 | +14.0% |
The dates show that the current figures have stood since April 2025, before the 2025/26 school year began. They do not show which school year the school meant, or whether it will change them for 2027/28, so we do not present them as 2026/27 fees.
Institut auf dem Rosenberg at a glance
Founded as an international boarding school in 1889, Institut auf dem Rosenberg is owned and managed by the Gademann family in the fourth consecutive generation (heritage). Its campus in St. Gallen, at Höhenweg 60, has Art Nouveau villas on 100,000 m² of private parkland in a pre-alpine climate, and the school puts Zurich and its airport less than an hour away by train or car (campus).
Pupils are typically aged 6 to 18 (mission), and a pre-school for local day pupils starts at age 4 (pre-school). The school states an average class size of eight and a staff to student ratio of 1:2 (academics), and students from more than 50 nationalities (student residences). The pages we read give no total number of pupils.
Teaching follows the school's own Rosenberg International Curriculum; in primary, pupils learn in English alongside a German enrichment programme (primary school). It prepares for IGCSE, A-Levels, Advanced Placement, the IB Diploma and the GIB (academics), which the school's German overview says is often called the German International Baccalaureate. High-school pathways start in Grade 9, and the school-leaving qualifications listed are GCSE, A-Levels, the Rosenberg High School Diploma (also with APs) and the IB Diploma (high school).
The school says pupils can join its curriculum at different stages from pre-school to the end of high school. Modern languages on offer include German, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Mandarin, Turkish, Russian, Portuguese, Swedish and Polish, and the school says it develops its coding, robotics and technology courses together with ETH Zurich.
Boys and girls live in separate residences grouped by age, and the youngest boarders live in Bärenburg, a villa on the main campus. The school lists more than 60 co-curricular and more than 40 athletic options.
Day school fees for local families
Rosenberg's day school is open to local families for the early primary years, from kindergarten through primary school, and the school gives its average cost as CHF 55,000 a year. Day pupils make up approximately 10% of the student population and move into boarding as they grow older.
The day includes care from arrival in the morning to pick-up in the evening and afternoon activities such as private music lessons, the school band, junior football, dance and tennis; with advance notice, pupils can have dinner at school. Places are limited, and the school asks families to enquire about vacancies.
Admission and application timing
- Online applicationReport cards for the previous three years, a personal statement in any medium, a scan of the passport, supporting documents, and the CHF 1,000 application fee, non-refundable.
- First readingApplicants who pass may be invited to a personal interview and to sit the Rosenberg entry exams.
- OfferAfter a review of the whole profile, successful applicants receive a direct or a conditional offer.
- AcceptanceFamilies have a few days to accept and secure the place by settling the first invoice.
Applications are accepted all year, with a peak from October to June for a school year that starts in late August or early September; the school says early submissions have a clear advantage (application FAQs). Visits are arranged once a complete application profile has been submitted (apply).
A place on the waitlist must be confirmed in writing and secured with a refundable waitlist deposit, and waitlist decisions are communicated by 15 July at the latest (waitlist). If no place is free, the admissions team may offer a deferred place for the following year; only the school can initiate a deferral. Scholarship places are very limited and mostly reserved years ahead, and the school says none are currently available. For admissions timing across Swiss boarding schools, see how to choose a Swiss boarding school.
How the Rosenberg figure compares with houses that publish 2026/27 fees
Institut auf dem Rosenberg is not one of the houses on our site, and this page describes it only from its own website. A like-for-like comparison is harder than usual. The houses in the table below publish fixed boarding fees for 2026/27, by year group or as a single figure, with accommodation included and compulsory extras listed; Rosenberg publishes an average that includes room and personal expenses and names no year. Its Base Fee of CHF 100,000 excludes the room, so it should not be set against another school's boarding fee.
The five houses below come closest on one or more points. St. George's teaches IGCSE, the IB Diploma and A-Levels (IGCSE, A-Levels). Collège du Léman offers the IB Diploma, the IB Career-related Programme, an American High School Diploma, the French baccalauréat and the Swiss Maturité (school site). Leysin American School offers a US High School Diploma and the IB (IB programme). Aiglon and Beau Soleil publish the two highest 2026/27 boarding fees among the houses on our site, for their oldest year groups. All eleven houses on our site are in the cantons of Vaud and Geneva; none is in German-speaking Switzerland.
| School | BoardingCHF | Compulsory extrasCHF | Total per yearCHF | DayCHF | Once, on entryCHF |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beau SoleilVillars-sur-Ollon VDBoarding and tuition, Grade 11School fee schedule, as of 14 Sept 2026 | 148,440 | 34,950 | 183,390 | boarding only | 24,990 |
| AiglonChesières-Villars VDBoarding, Years 12-13School fee schedule, as of 7 Sept 2026 | 168,000 | 0 | 168,000 | 99,400 | 24,000 |
| St. George’s International SchoolClarens, Montreux VDFull boarding, Years 12-13School fee schedule, as of 14 Sept 2026 | 132,400 | 4,300 | 136,700 | 49,250 | 13,000 |
| Leysin American SchoolLeysin VDTuition, room and boardSchool fee schedule, as of 14 Sept 2026 | 128,000 | 600 | 128,600 | boarding only | 20,500 |
| Collège du LémanVersoix GEBoarding, Grades 5-12, full yearSchool fee schedule, as of 11 Feb 2026 | 117,500 | 0 | 117,500 | 37,500 | 11,300 |
| Item | Le Rosey | Institut auf dem Rosenberg |
|---|---|---|
| Form | PDF fee documents per section, with a version date | One web page with a structure and averages |
| School year stated | yes: 2027/28, version September 2026 | no |
| Main figure | CHF 164,400 boarding and tuition, Classes 5 to Terminale | CHF 165,000 average for a boarding pupil, Base Fee plus Individual Fees |
| Room and meals | included | meals in the Base Fee; room billed by residence type |
| Health insurance | flat fee of CHF 3,950 for pupils living abroad | an Individual Fee; amount not stated |
| Exam charges | IB CHF 13,900 or French bac CHF 4,900 a year in the final two years | an Individual Fee; amount not stated |
| Deposit | CHF 18,000 guarantee deposit | not stated; a refundable deposit secures a waitlist place |
| Registration or application fee | CHF 3,000 | CHF 1,000 |
| Payment | three terms with fixed dates | first invoice on acceptance; schedule not stated |
| Scholarships | three to five partial scholarships a year | none currently available |
For comparison, Le Rosey's own documents give CHF 159,600 for boarding and tuition in 2026/27 (archived conditions) and CHF 164,400 in 2027/28 (current conditions) for Classes 5 to Terminale, before its IB charge and health fee; the details are in our Le Rosey fees guide. Our guide to the most expensive schools in the world looks at high-fee schools more widely, and Swiss boarding schools compared sets the houses on our site side by side.
If you are weighing Rosenberg against other schools, we can put the current published figures of comparable houses in front of you and suggest a shortlist with the reason for each. Write to us through the enquiry page.
Questions parents ask
- How much does Institut auf dem Rosenberg cost per year?
- The school states an average of CHF 165,000 a year for a boarding pupil: a Base Fee of CHF 100,000 and Individual Fees averaging CHF 65,000, which cover the room, personal expenses, individual academic choices, trips and chargeable options. The fee page does not name a school year. At the ECB reference rates of 22 September 2026, CHF 165,000 was USD 201,362.
- What does the Institut auf dem Rosenberg tuition fee include?
- Tuition sits in the Base Fee of CHF 100,000 per academic school year, which covers regular academic tuition, all regular school meals, the co-curricular and athletics courses that carry no charge, and guidance under the school's Individual Development Plan. The room is billed separately as a Room Category Fee by residence type, one of the Individual Fees.
- Which school year do the Rosenberg fees refer to?
- The fee page does not say. The same figures (CHF 165,000 average, CHF 100,000 Base Fee, CHF 65,000 average Individual Fees) appear in Internet Archive copies of the page from 22 April 2025 onwards, while a copy from 21 January 2025 still showed CHF 150,000, 93,000 and 57,000. Ask the admissions office which figures apply to your child's year of entry.
- Is Institut auf dem Rosenberg the most expensive school in the world?
- The school's own application FAQ takes up the question, says it may possibly be, and calls the question irrelevant to it. On published figures its CHF 165,000 average, without a school year, sits next to Le Rosey's CHF 164,400 boarding and tuition fee for 2027/28, but the two are built differently. See the most expensive schools in the world.
- Does Institut auf dem Rosenberg offer scholarships?
- Very few. The school says it has a very limited number of scholarship places, most of them reserved over many years, because it receives no government subsidies and cannot accept donations. It also says that it currently has no scholarship places available. Requests go to the school's scholarship email address.
- How much is the Rosenberg application fee?
- CHF 1,000 per candidate, non-refundable, paid with the online application. The file also needs report cards for the previous three years, a personal statement in any medium and a scan of the passport. Candidates who pass the first reading may be invited to an interview and the Rosenberg entry exams, followed by a direct or conditional offer.
- How much does the Rosenberg day school cost?
- The school gives an average of CHF 55,000 a year for its day school, which is open to local families for the early primary years, with a pre-school from age 4. Day pupils make up approximately 10% of students and move into boarding as they grow older. Places are limited, and the school asks families to enquire about vacancies.
- When should we apply to Institut auf dem Rosenberg?
- Applications are accepted all year, with a peak season from October to June before a school year that starts in late August or early September. The school says early submissions have a clear advantage and increase the likelihood of direct entry. Waitlist decisions are communicated by 15 July at the latest.
- What ages does Institut auf dem Rosenberg take?
- Typically 6 to 18, according to the school's mission page, with a pre-school for local day pupils from age 4. The youngest boarders live in Bärenburg, a villa on the main campus, and the high-school pathways begin in Grade 9, leading to GCSE, A-Levels, the Rosenberg High School Diploma or the IB Diploma.
Sources
- Fees
- Fees, Internet Archive copy of 6 October 2024
- Fees, Internet Archive copy of 21 January 2025
- Fees, Internet Archive copy of 22 April 2025
- Day School Academics
- Apply
- Application FAQs
- Waitlist
- Mission
- Heritage
- Academics
- High School
- Pre-School
- Primary School
- Campus
- Student Residences
- Übersicht: Das Schweizer Internat
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates, 22 September 2026
- Conditions financières et contractuelles, année scolaire 2027-28, Cadets-Seniors (v. Sept 2026)
- Admissions: How to?
- Conditions financières et contractuelles, année scolaire 2026-27, Cadets-Seniors (v. Sept 2025), Internet Archive copy of 13 December 2025
- IGCSE
- A-Levels
- Collège du Léman (school home page)
- IB Program
Sources read and figures checked on 23 Sept 2026. Fees and dates change; the school's own documents are what count.




