How to choose a boarding school: four decisions come first
How to choose a boarding school in Switzerland is mostly a question of order. Four decisions narrow the field before any form is filled in, and each of them removes houses from the list.
- Age and stage. The starting ages the houses state for boarding run from 9 to 12, and La Garenne also boards pupils in its primary section (ages 5 to 11), so a young child's age can decide the shortlist on its own.
- Diploma. The IB Diploma, A Levels, the US High School Diploma, the French Baccalauréat and the Swiss Maturité open different doors; check the university requirements before choosing the school.
- Setting. Four of the eleven houses on this site are in the Alps, at Chesières-Villars, Villars-sur-Ollon and Leysin; seven are around Lake Geneva, in and near Lausanne, Montreux and Geneva.
- Budget. Published boarding fees for 2026/27 and the one-off charges on entry are on our page on Swiss boarding school fees.
The houses side by side, with curricula, ages and altitudes, are on our comparison of Swiss boarding schools. This guide covers what follows the shortlist: timing, the admission file, junior boarding, what each diploma leads to, the questions to ask and the permit for a child under 18.
When to apply to a Swiss boarding school
There is no common deadline. Several houses admit pupils during the school year, while others ask families to apply early because boarding places are limited. The table sets out what the schools themselves say.
| School | Timing and process | Fee to apply | Tests and interview | Decision |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beau Soleil | Apply early in the school year, ideally between September and December, as availability shrinks later in the year | CHF 3,000, non-refundable | Placement tests in mathematics and English | Within a week |
| Haut-Lac | Applications all year, depending on availability; boarding applicants are strongly advised to apply by January for the following year | Not published (the school calls it an acceptance fee) | An interview after the application is reviewed; sometimes a placement or language assessment | Not stated |
| St. George's | Rolling admissions and entry during the year; the school recommends starting in the first term, in September | CHF 500 | Entrance assessments, usually online, plus an interview or a video call | Not stated |
| Collège du Léman | Applications all year and entry at any time if places are free; the process can take as little as two or three weeks | CHF 500, non-refundable | An optional online English placement test; boarders also complete a video questionnaire | Five working days of review, then an offer if a place is free |
| Brillantmont | Applications for 2027/28 are open; entry in January 2027 is also possible | CHF 2,000 registration, non-refundable; CHF 12,000 admission deposit, returned in full on the final statement | Maths and English placement tests for all grades, more for Grade 11 or 13, and an interview by Zoom or on campus | Acceptance, waiting list or refusal; acceptance form and deposit due within 10 days |
| Aiglon College | No deadline given on the admissions page; Year 12 applicants must attend an in-person full admissions visit | CHF 3,000 registration, non-refundable | Online assessments (problem solving, mathematical reasoning, logic, literacy) and an interview; Year 12 candidates attend in person with a mathematics test | Communicated monthly: accept, waiting list or decline |
| Leysin American School | Online application through the admissions portal | CHF 500 | An English placement test for non-native speakers (IELTS, TOEFL or Duolingo accepted), three teacher recommendations and a handwritten essay | Within 10 business days of a complete application |
| La Garenne | Applications reviewed on a rolling basis; enrolling before 1 May 2027 keeps the place with a smaller first payment (see below) | CHF 2,000, non-refundable | The application fee covers campus visits and placement testing; the admissions committee decides | Not stated |
| Chantemerle | Applications taken online all year | CHF 1,600 first payment, non-refundable | A school visit or a telephone or Zoom interview on motivation and community life | Not stated |
| ENSR | Applications reviewed on a rolling basis; a personal appointment with the director or dean precedes a decision | CHF 1,000 boarding, CHF 500 day | In certain cases, an academic orientation test or an entrance examination | Not stated |
How to apply to a Swiss boarding school: key dates for 2027
The dates below are the specific ones the schools and Institut Le Rosey publish for entry in August or September 2027: open days, application rounds, scholarship deadlines and enrolment-related deadlines. Only dates seen on a school's own site on 24 September 2026 are listed; a house that sets no fixed date of this kind does not appear.
| Date | What happens | Where |
|---|---|---|
| 7 October 2026 | Open house for the Primary School | Collège du Léman |
| 8 October 2026 | Open house for the Middle School and the English-language High School | Collège du Léman |
| 8 October 2026 | First admission round closes for the senior classes; decisions announced in early November 2026 | Institut Le Rosey |
| 28 October 2026 | Open house, Pre-school Stay & Play | Collège du Léman |
| 29 October 2026 | Open house for the Secondaire (French Baccalauréat and Swiss Maturité) | Collège du Léman |
| 13 November 2026 | Open Day, 9am to 11am | Haut-Lac |
| Mid-November 2026 | First stage of a scholarship application (online form) for pupils starting the following August | Aiglon College |
| 26 November 2026 | Second admission round closes for the senior classes; decisions announced in mid-December 2026 | Institut Le Rosey |
| January 2027 | New boarding and day pupils welcomed mid-year | Brillantmont |
| End of January 2027 | Global Scholarship 2027-2028 application closes (opened autumn 2026) | Leysin American School |
| 11 February 2027 | Third admission round closes for the senior classes; decisions announced in early March 2027 | Institut Le Rosey |
| 1 May 2027 | Enrolling before this date keeps the place with at least 15% of the first invoice and a CHF 5,000 contribution to the School Development Fund | La Garenne |
| 15 August 2027 | For enrolments after this date, or during the school year, the first invoice is due before the pupil can start | La Garenne |
Joining during the school year
Several houses take pupils outside the usual August or September start, sometimes at a reduced fee for the months already gone. The terms below are what each school publishes on 24 September 2026; none of them is a promise of a place, since it still depends on which places are free.
- Collège du Léman admits at any time in the academic year if a place is free; the whole process can take as little as two to three weeks (Admissions).
- Brillantmont welcomes new boarding and day pupils in January 2027 (How to apply).
- Haut-Lac accepts applications all year round, depending on availability, within its rolling admissions system (Admissions FAQs).
- ENSR publishes an exact pro-rata schedule for boarders and day pupils starting during the 2026/27 school year: 100% of the fee up to 10 October 2026, 85% from 25 October to 23 December 2026, 65% from 10 January to 6 February 2027, 50% from 21 February to 26 March 2027, and 30% from 11 April to 3 July 2027 (Annual fees 2026/2027, boarding).
- La Garenne takes new pupils after 15 August or during the school year, though the first invoice must be paid before the pupil can start; enrolling before 1 May keeps the place for at least 15% of the first invoice and a CHF 5,000 contribution (General Conditions 2026-2027).
- Institut Le Rosey, outside our eleven houses, says a place becomes free during the year only rarely, usually at the start of the second or third term (How to become a Roséen; Le Rosey).
The 2026/27 school year is under way, so a family starting now is usually aiming at the 2027/28 year or at a place during the current one. A pupil from outside the EU/EFTA must apply for a Swiss permit before entering the country, so the permit belongs in the plan from the start (see the permit section below).
Swiss boarding school admission: the usual steps
The details differ, but the houses describe the same sequence. The examples come from the schools' own admissions pages, consulted on 23 September 2026.
- Enquiry and visitAiglon offers an initial visit of about an hour and a half or, once the application is in, a full admissions visit of three to four hours (Aiglon). ENSR arranges a personal appointment with the director or dean, and its visits are free and non-binding (ENSR).
- Application form and feeFamilies complete the form and pay a fee before any decision: Beau Soleil charges a non-refundable application fee of CHF 3,000 (Beau Soleil). La Garenne describes the same order: contact, application with documents, assessment and interview, decision (La Garenne).
- School reports and referencesAiglon, Beau Soleil and St. George's ask for reports from the last two years; Leysin American School asks for transcripts from the last three years and three teacher recommendations (Leysin American School). Collège du Léman sends a confidential report form to the current school (Collège du Léman).
- TestsBeau Soleil and Brillantmont set placement tests in English and mathematics, and Brillantmont adds tests for entry to Grade 11 or 13 (Brillantmont). Aiglon's online assessments cover problem solving, mathematical reasoning, logical thinking and literacy, and St. George's entrance assessments are usually taken online (St. George's).
- Interview and personal statementBrillantmont interviews by Zoom or on campus, Haut-Lac interviews after reviewing the application, and St. George's holds a video call when a child relocating from abroad cannot visit. Beau Soleil asks the student for a handwritten letter of motivation, Leysin American School for a handwritten essay, and Collège du Léman for a video questionnaire from prospective boarders.
- DecisionAiglon's enrolment committee communicates its decisions monthly: accept, waiting list or decline. Brillantmont's outcomes are acceptance, waiting list or refusal. Beau Soleil decides within a week, Leysin American School within 10 business days of a complete file.
- Deposit and enrolmentThe deposit secures the place. Brillantmont states that the admission is not final until the admission deposit is received, and Leysin American School asks for its security deposit within 10 business days of acceptance.
English support matters at this stage. Leysin American School accepts IELTS, TOEFL or Duolingo scores in place of its English placement test for non-native speakers; Collège du Léman may set an online English placement test and runs an English as an Additional Language programme (Collège du Léman).
What you pay on entry
Application and registration fees are charged before the decision, and those of Aiglon, Beau Soleil and Brillantmont are non-refundable. Deposits follow acceptance; Brillantmont refunds its admission deposit at the end of the student's stay (Brillantmont).
| School | BoardingCHF | Compulsory extrasCHF | Total per yearCHF | DayCHF | Once, on entryCHF |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beau SoleilVillars-sur-Ollon VDBoarding and tuition, Grade 11School fee schedule, as of 14 Sept 2026 | 148,440 | 34,950 | 183,390 | boarding only | 24,990 |
| AiglonChesières-Villars VDBoarding, Years 12-13School fee schedule, as of 7 Sept 2026 | 168,000 | 0 | 168,000 | 99,400 | 24,000 |
| St. George’s International SchoolClarens, Montreux VDFull boarding, Years 12-13School fee schedule, as of 14 Sept 2026 | 132,400 | 4,300 | 136,700 | 49,250 | 13,000 |
| La GarenneVillars-sur-Ollon VDBoarding, Diploma Years (Years 12-13)School fee schedule, as of 14 Sept 2026 | 129,000 | 0plus mandatory school trips (no amount published) | 129,000 | 94,000 | 19,000 |
| Leysin American SchoolLeysin VDTuition, room and boardSchool fee schedule, as of 14 Sept 2026 | 128,000 | 600 | 128,600 | boarding only | 20,500 |
| Collège du LémanVersoix GEBoarding, Grades 5-12, full yearSchool fee schedule, as of 11 Feb 2026 | 117,500 | 0 | 117,500 | 37,500 | 11,300 |
| Surval MontreuxMontreux VDTotal annual school feeSchool fee schedule, as of 28 May 2026 | 115,000 | 0 | 115,000 | boarding only | 12,500 |
| BrillantmontLausanne VDBoarding, Grades 11-13School fee schedule, as of 14 Sept 2026 | 111,000 | 0 | 111,000 | 38,000 | 14,000 |
| Ecole Nouvelle de la Suisse RomandeLausanne VD7-day boarding, IB yearsSchool fee schedule, as of 13 Feb 2026 | 81,000 | 201 | 81,201plus VAT | 29,700 | 8,000 |
| ChantemerleBlonay VDCambridge section, 7-day boardingSchool fee schedule, as of 14 Sept 2026 | 62,500 | 0plus deposit for personal expenses and options (about 15% of the tuition fees) | 62,500 | 29,500 | 1,600 |
The table shows each house's highest boarding year group. Haut-Lac is not in it, because its admissions FAQ still gave 2025/26 fees on 23 September 2026 (Haut-Lac). The full fee schedules, compulsory extras and all year groups are on our page on Swiss boarding school fees.
Boarding school age in Switzerland and junior boarding
The youngest boarding age differs from house to house, which makes age the first filter for a child under 12. These are the ages the schools give on their own websites.
| School | As stated | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Chantemerle, Blonay | Boarders from 9, day pupils from 6 | School website |
| Aiglon College, Chesières-Villars | Day pupils in Years 3 and 4; boarding from Year 5 in two junior houses, La Baita for boys and La Casa for girls | Junior School |
| St. George's, Clarens | Weekly and full boarding from 10 to 18 | Admissions FAQ |
| Collège du Léman, Versoix | Boarders aged 10 to 18 | Boarding page |
| La Garenne, Villars-sur-Ollon | Boarding in the primary, middle and senior sections, in three residences by age; the primary school covers ages 5 to 11, and the 2026/27 conditions list a boarding fee for Years 1 to 6 | School website, conditions 2026/27 |
| Haut-Lac, Saint-Légier | Boarding from 11; younger pupils considered case by case | Admissions FAQ |
| Beau Soleil, Villars-sur-Ollon | Students aged 11 to 18 | School website |
| Leysin American School, Leysin | Grades 7 to 12 | Learning page |
| ENSR, Lausanne | Boarding page: 12 to 18; the 2026/27 fee schedule lists five-day and seven-day boarding from Grade 5, at 11 | Boarding page, fees 2026/27 |
Junior boarding is organised differently from senior boarding. La Garenne houses its boarders in three residences by age, with full-time house parents living in each. St. George's offers weekly as well as full boarding, and at Haut-Lac weekly boarders stay from Monday to Friday and go home for weekends (Haut-Lac).
Houses that take younger boarders
ChantemerleBlonay VD, on the terraceElevation679mFees 2026/27CHF 62,500Age range6-18Maturité suisse, IGCSE, A Levels
St. George’s International SchoolClarens, Montreux VD, on Lake GenevaElevation414mFees 2026/27CHF 132,400Age range18 months-18IGCSE, IB Diploma, A Levels
Collège du LémanVersoix GE, on Lake GenevaElevation410mFees 2026/27CHF 117,500Age range2-18
La GarenneVillars-sur-Ollon VD, in the AlpsElevation1278mFees 2026/27CHF 129,000Age range3-18
Haut-LacSaint-Légier VD, on the terraceElevation615mFees 2026/27as published for 2025/26Age range3-18
Curricula and what they lead to
Choose the diploma by the universities it should open. Swiss universities publish their entry requirements for each foreign certificate through swissuniversities, and the rules for 2026/27 differ clearly between diplomas (swissuniversities, admission by country).
| Diploma | Offered at, for example | University of Lausanne requirement |
|---|---|---|
| IB Diploma | Aiglon, Beau Soleil, Collège du Léman, Haut-Lac, Leysin American School, St. George's | At least 32 of 42 points without bonus points; six subjects from the required groups, three at Higher Level, one of them mathematics or a natural science |
| A Levels | St. George's; Chantemerle (Cambridge section) | Six subjects, including three A Levels graded B, B and C with mathematics or a natural science among them, plus three further subjects at AS or GCSE/IGCSE level with the grades specified |
| US High School Diploma | Collège du Léman, Haut-Lac, Leysin American School | The diploma plus Advanced Placement tests in six general education subjects, each with at least grade 3 |
| French Baccalauréat | Collège du Léman | Baccalauréat général with the mathematics speciality and either life and earth sciences or physics-chemistry in the last two years, and an average of at least 12 out of 20 |
| Swiss Maturité | Chantemerle, Collège du Léman, ENSR (Swiss Maturity Examination) | General access to Swiss universities |
The federal institutes of technology set a higher bar. ETH Zurich (for admission without an entrance examination) and EPFL ask IB holders for 38 of 42 points, and EPFL also for at least 6 out of 7 in mathematics and physics (swissuniversities, International Baccalaureate). EPFL requires its own entrance examination from holders of a US High School Diploma (admission by country).
The Swiss Maturité gives general access to Swiss universities (SERI). None of the eleven houses is on SERI's list of schools with recognised Maturité certificates (status 18 September 2026); pupils at schools outside that list can take the Swiss Maturity Examination, which gives direct access to Swiss universities (SERI, Swiss Maturity Examination). Chantemerle states that its Maturité exams are held under the Swiss Maturity Commission (Chantemerle), ENSR describes a two-year course with a session of external partial examinations at the end of each year (ENSR), and Collège du Léman prepares a bilingual Maturité fédérale (Collège du Léman).
Cambridge International offers 55 subjects at AS and A Level, and some can be started as an AS Level and extended to a full A Level (Cambridge International).
Questions to ask a school before you apply
A visit is the time to get answers in writing. The questions below cover care, teaching, weekends and health; where a school publishes an answer, it is given as an example.
- Pastoral care. Who lives in the boarding house, and who is on duty at night? La Garenne states that full-time house parents and boarding staff live in each of its residences; Collège du Léman describes round-the-clock support from house parents (boarding page).
- Class sizes. What is the average class, and the largest? Aiglon publishes an average class size of 12 (Aiglon) and Haut-Lac an average of around 15 students per class.
- Weekends. How many boarders stay at weekends, and what is planned for them? Weekly boarders at Haut-Lac stay from Monday to Friday and go home for weekends.
- Exeats. Which weekends must boarders leave school, where do they stay, and are the dates in the 2026/27 calendar?
- Medical care. Is a nurse on site day and night, and who arranges health insurance? Collège du Léman states that its boarders have 24/7 medical care and a dedicated counsellor.
- Languages. How many hours of French are taught each week, and what English support exists? Haut-Lac requires no minimum French or English up to Grade 10 and expects B1 from Grade 11.
- Safeguarding. May we read the child protection policy, and who is responsible for safeguarding in the school?
- Permit. Who applies for the residence permit, and is its cost in the fees? Brillantmont states that the family applies for the entry visa and the school applies for the student residence permit after arrival (Brillantmont).
- Refunds. Which fees are refundable if plans change, and when is the deposit returned?
Student permits for pupils under 18
A pupil who stays longer than three months needs a residence permit, and pupils from outside the EU/EFTA must apply for it before entering Switzerland (FNIA, Art. 10, version of 12 June 2026). The rules below come from SEM and the federal law; the cantonal authority decides each case.
Pupils from EU and EFTA states
SEM's factsheet names pupils among the persons in education who may live in Switzerland under the free movement agreement. They must show sufficient financial means and admission to a recognised institution for a general education programme; the permit is issued for the length of the course or for one year and renewed until the course ends, as long as the conditions are still met (SEM factsheet).
Pupils from other countries
Pupils from other countries are admitted for education under Article 27 FNIA: the school confirms the place, suitable accommodation and the necessary funds are available, and the pupil meets the personal and educational requirements. For children the law adds a condition of its own.
In the case of minors, their supervision must be guaranteed.
Federal Act on Foreign Nationals and Integration (FNIA), Art. 27 para. 2, version of 12 June 2026 (English translation, for information only)
SEM's directives count boarding schools as full-time schools, the only kind for which an education permit is issued, with at least 20 hours of lessons a week; a course of more than a year leads to a B permit. Education stays are normally approved for eight years at most (OASA, Art. 23 para. 3). A longer stay needs a well-founded reason and SEM's approval, for example schooling that follows a logical sequence, for which SEM names boarding school and gymnasium (SEM directives, 5.1.1, status 15 June 2026).
Visa-required nationals apply in person at the Swiss representation as a rule, and the representation interviews the applicant. SEM's list of documents includes the school's confirmation, the previous certificates, a letter of motivation, proof that the school fees are paid and proof of sufficient funds (SEM directives, 5.1.1).
Ask whether the school is listed in the Swiss Private School Register. SEM recommends that cantonal migration offices presume that registered schools meet the legal standard for proper education, while still checking each pupil's personal circumstances; cantonal rules on private schools continue to apply (SEM circular, 16 May 2024).
Health insurance
Everyone resident in Switzerland must take out health insurance, or be insured by their legal representative, within three months, and FOPH states that each member of a family, adult or child, must be insured individually (FOPH). Students with equivalent cover can apply to the canton for an exemption (FOPH, foreign students); ask the school whether its fees include medical insurance and which policies it accepts.
How we fit into the search
We are an independent search and selection service. We put the current published figures and options of the houses in front of a family and suggest a shortlist, with the reason for each house. You can write to us through the contact page; we answer within 24 hours.
The eleven houses on this site
AiglonChesières-Villars VD, in the AlpsElevation1227mFees 2026/27CHF 168,000Age range6-18
Beau SoleilVillars-sur-Ollon VD, in the AlpsElevation1241mFees 2026/27CHF 148,440Age range11-18
La GarenneVillars-sur-Ollon VD, in the AlpsElevation1278mFees 2026/27CHF 129,000Age range3-18 Leysin American SchoolLeysin VD, in the AlpsElevation1435mFees 2026/27CHF 128,000Age range12-18 years
BrillantmontLausanne VD, on the terraceElevation549mFees 2026/27CHF 111,000Age range13-18IGCSE, A Levels, US High School Diploma
Ecole Nouvelle de la Suisse RomandeLausanne VD, on the terraceElevation595mFees 2026/27CHF 81,000Age range2½-19Maturité suisse, IB Diploma
Collège du LémanVersoix GE, on Lake GenevaElevation410mFees 2026/27CHF 117,500Age range2-18
Haut-LacSaint-Légier VD, on the terraceElevation615mFees 2026/27as published for 2025/26Age range3-18
ChantemerleBlonay VD, on the terraceElevation679mFees 2026/27CHF 62,500Age range6-18Maturité suisse, IGCSE, A Levels
St. George’s International SchoolClarens, Montreux VD, on Lake GenevaElevation414mFees 2026/27CHF 132,400Age range18 months-18IGCSE, IB Diploma, A Levels Surval MontreuxMontreux VD, on the terraceElevation576mFees 2026/27CHF 115,000Age range12-19
Questions parents ask
- What age does boarding school start in Switzerland?
- It depends on the school. Among the houses on this site, Chantemerle takes boarders from 9, St. George's and Collège du Léman from 10, and Haut-Lac from 11, with younger pupils considered case by case. ENSR's boarding page says 12, while its 2026/27 fee schedule lists boarding from Grade 5, at 11. La Garenne boards pupils in its primary section too, in a residence set aside for that age group, and lists a boarding fee for Years 1 to 6.
- When should we apply to a Swiss boarding school?
- Start in the autumn before the intended September. Beau Soleil recommends applying between September and December, and Haut-Lac strongly advises boarding applicants to apply by January for the following year because places are limited. Several houses also admit during the year: Collège du Léman accepts applications all year round, and Brillantmont welcomes new pupils in January 2027.
- Is it hard to get into a Swiss boarding school?
- Admission rates are not published on the admissions pages cited here, so judge each house by its process. Collège du Léman calls itself academically non-selective, while Aiglon places some applicants on a waiting list when a year group, pathway or boarding house is full or other candidates are stronger. School reports, tests, the interview and the number of free places decide.
- Do Swiss boarding schools interview applicants?
- Yes, as a rule. Aiglon combines an interview with online assessments, Brillantmont interviews by Zoom or on campus, and Haut-Lac invites families to an interview after reviewing the application. St. George's holds a video call interview when a child relocating from abroad cannot visit the school first.
- Does my child need to speak French?
- Not for the English-language programmes, but the level matters. Haut-Lac requires no minimum French or English up to Grade 10 and expects at least B1 from Grade 11, and Chantemerle teaches its Maturité mainly in French, aiming at a solid command at level B1, with a French integration programme for newcomers. Leysin American School tests non-native speakers of English or accepts IELTS, TOEFL or Duolingo scores.
- Does a boarding pupil need a Swiss residence permit?
- Yes, for stays over three months. Pupils from EU/EFTA states receive a permit if they show sufficient funds and admission to a recognised school. Pupils from other countries need a permit for education under Article 27 FNIA, applied for before entry, and the law requires that the supervision of a minor is guaranteed. Visa-required nationals apply in person at the Swiss representation, as a rule.
- Which diplomas give access to Swiss universities?
- All five discussed here can, on different terms. The Swiss Maturité gives general access. For 2026/27 most Swiss universities ask IB holders for 32 of 42 points, ETH Zurich and EPFL for 38. The University of Lausanne asks for Advanced Placement tests in six subjects on top of a US High School Diploma, and EPFL for its own entrance examination.
- Why choose a Swiss boarding school?
- The case rests on things you can check. Between them the houses on this site teach the IB, A Levels, the US High School Diploma, the French Baccalauréat and the Swiss Maturité; several teach in French and English, and some take boarders from 9 or 10. Whether that suits your child depends on age, languages and university plans, which is why our comparison sets the houses side by side.
- Is there an entrance exam for Swiss boarding schools?
- Most houses test rather than examine competitively. Aiglon sets online assessments in problem solving, mathematical reasoning, logic and literacy plus an interview, and tests Year 12 candidates in person with mathematics. Beau Soleil and Brillantmont test mathematics and English, Leysin American School tests English for non-native speakers (or accepts IELTS, TOEFL or Duolingo), and Collège du Léman may set an online English test. Chantemerle and Haut-Lac rely on a visit or interview instead, and ENSR asks for an orientation test or entrance examination only in certain cases.
- Can a child join a Swiss boarding school in the middle of the year?
- Yes, at several houses. Collège du Léman admits at any time if a place is free, Brillantmont welcomes new pupils in January 2027, and Haut-Lac reviews applications all year round. ENSR reduces its fee in stages for pupils starting later, from 85% in late October 2026 down to 30% from April 2027. La Garenne accepts enrolments after 15 August or during the school year, once the first invoice is paid. Institut Le Rosey, outside our eleven houses, says a mid-year place is rare.
Sources
- Application process
- Home page
- Admissions FAQs
- Admissions FAQs
- Admissions process
- Admissions
- Entry requirements
- Boarding
- Home page (diploma programmes)
- High School (Maturité fédérale, French Baccalauréat)
- How to apply
- Admissions (admissions process)
- Quick facts and frequent questions
- Learning
- Admissions
- Learning
- Home page (boarding)
- Admissions and school fees
- General Conditions, School Year 2026-2027
- Admission procedure
- Boarding school
- Annual fees 2026/2027, Boarding School
- Swiss Maturity in Lausanne
- Home page
- Maturité suisse
- Home page (curricula)
- Boarding
- International Baccalaureate: admission requirements, valid for 2026/27
- Admission requirements by country, valid for 2026/27
- Great Britain: Université de Lausanne, valid for 2026/27
- Bachelor avec un diplôme étranger
- Liste des exigences par pays, année académique 2026/2027
- Accès aux cursus de bachelor: informations complémentaires (baccalauréat français, IB, diplômes des États-Unis)
- Conditions supplémentaires: examen de français
- Gymnasiale Maturität
- Schweizerische Maturitätsprüfung
- Liste der Schulen mit anerkannten gymnasialen Maturitätszeugnissen, Stand 18 September 2026
- Cambridge International AS & A Levels
- Federal Act on Foreign Nationals and Integration (FNIA), SR 142.20, version of 12 June 2026
- Verordnung über Zulassung, Aufenthalt und Erwerbstätigkeit (VZAE/OASA), SR 142.201, version of 12 June 2026
- Weisungen und Erläuterungen I. Ausländerbereich (Weisungen AIG), status 15 June 2026
- Factsheet: Residing in Switzerland without gainful activity
- Rundschreiben: Anerkennung von Privatschulen, die im Privatschulregister Schweiz eingetragen sind (16 May 2024)
- Health insurance: Requirement to obtain insurance for persons resident in Switzerland
- Health insurance: Foreign students in Switzerland
- Scholarships
- Fees
- Inscription en ligne
- Open houses
- Fees
- Haut-Lac Open Day
- Global Scholarship 2027-2028
- How to become a Roséen
- Application Form and General Conditions 2026/2027
- Junior School
Sources read and figures checked on 24 Sept 2026. Fees and dates change; the school's own documents are what count.




